Quinoa Cakes

Quinoa is an amazing gluten free whole grain that is packed full of protein. Sophia loves the quinoa blueberry muffins I make (see earlier post for recipe), but I wanted to give Sophia this super grain in a savory dish that can be served for lunch or dinner.

I have enjoyed trying out recipes in Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Everyday so I decided to try out her recipe for Little Quinoa Patties. I made a batch of these and brought them to my book club (everyone LOVED them)..and one of my toughest critics (Sophia) loved them too.

Little Quinoa Patties (from the cookbook Super Natural Everyday)

Ingridients

  • 2 1/2 cups cooked quinoa at room temperature (see blueberry quinoa muffin recipe for how to cook quinoa)
  • 4 Large Organic Eggs Beaten
  • 1/2 TSP salt
  • 1/3 Cup Organic Chopped Chives
  • 1 Organic Yellow Onion finely chopped (this part is really important if you are serving these to your kiddos)
  • 1/3 Cup grated Organic Guyere or Aged Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • 3 Organic Garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 Cup Organic Breadcrumbs (I have tried Italian and Plain and both worked well) plus more if needed
  • water, if needed
  • 1 TBSP extra-virgin olive oil
Directions
  • Combine the quinoa, eggs and salt in a medium bowl.
  • Stir in the chives, onion, cheese, and garlic.
  • Add the breadcrumbs, stir, and let sit for a few minutes so the breadcrumbs can absorb the moisture. At this point you should have a mixture that you can easily form into 12 patties (think hamburgers). If needed, add more breadcrumbs or if the mixture is too dry add water or egg. (err on the moist side)
  • Heat the oil in a large heavy skillet over medium low. Add six patties, cover and cook for 7-10 minutes or until deeply golden brown.
  • Carefully flip patties and cook for another 7 minutes or until golden brown.
Serving Suggestions: These are great just plain. I also plan to “green” these cakes by adding finely chopped broccoli.
Storage: I froze a bunch of these to have on hand for Sophia. Just reheat and serve.
3 responses to “Quinoa Cakes

  1. I love these patties and served them with Trader Joe’s sweet chili sauce. I had trouble keeping them together so I used an icecream scoop and pressed them tightly into a lightly oiled muffin tin and froze them for an hour. That worked great. Then they could be kept in the freezer and poped into the pan when needed, a few a a time. If adding other veggies, chop them very fine or use more egg.

    • Hi Rob
      Thanks for the comment. I like the idea of having them ready to cook in the freezer. I cooked them all and have reheated when I am ready to serve them and that worked fine too.
      Katie

  2. I love your recipes and am excited to try them all. For this one, I had leftover barley and lentils and used them instead of quinoa, and added some quinoa flour since I had that around too. They were great! Our wee one loved them. Thanks for all the great ideas!

Leave a Reply

